I Was a Mad Scientist in a Past Life…

Cruel looking device

just made my life easier.

Careful where you step!

-o.o-

Every once in a while, I have a good idea.

So yesterday, I wasted two nicely-cut sections of drywall by misplacing or mis-sizing the outlet holes. As DH can attest, I was about to have a meltdown. So I did a Google search to see if anyone had good advice about how not to screw it up. (And to preempt any well meaning advice, the outlet boxes are already wired, so the handy lipstick trick is useless. I can’t put the drywall flush against the outlet boxes). The first thing that came up was this brilliant tool.

“Perfect!” I thought, “my woes are over!”

Of course, being a Sunday after five, there was nowhere to purchase the amazing tool (Home Depot doesn’t carry them. I asked the guy in the drywall department – he said “Wow – that would be really handy. I’ve never heard of one of those…”)

So what’s a girl to do when she just has to finish the wall before dinner, without ruining yet another piece? She buys a $.69 faceplate, turns it over to note the convenient little circles that correspond to the edge of the outlet box, and starts pounding nails. Then, when the drywall section is properly cut, she attaches the pointy face plate to the outlet box (so don’t lose the screws!), lines up the drywall, and gives it a push.

Ta Da! You should have six little puncture marks to show where the outlet hole should be cut.

You’re welcome.

-o.o-

This entry was posted in haiku, images, stuff that works and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Was a Mad Scientist in a Past Life…

  1. walt says:

    Very tricky! You stand in a long line of female genius and inventiveness! For instance, Mizz V used to endlessly rearrange our nursery, using only a hand dolly, and refusing all offers of male assistance. She insisted that women using only hand dollies had originally built the Egyptian pyramids. And all before dinner.

  2. mushroom says:

    That’s pretty clever.

  3. julie says:

    Mizz V is truly marvelous – I suspect my small genius pales in comparison to hers. And I bet she’s right about the pyramids.

  4. multitasker adds
    handygirl to resume
    builds better mousetrap

  5. QP says:

    Now the pragmatist in me, which is a very big part of me, just thinks you are too cool! Are you going to tape, float, texture and paint too?

    Collapsible Hand Dolly” – no girl should be w/out!

    Why didn’t they invent wheels on luggage sooner?

  6. Clever dealio, Julie! And yes, hand-trucks rule.

  7. Lucy says:

    Not just a pretty face…

  8. Pingback: Recent Links Tagged With "scientist" - JabberTags

Leave a Reply

