Friday Portrait, September 12

Today’s sitter was Rebecca, a lovely woman who radiated a remarkable serenity and good humor the whole time she was there. Remarkable especially because she’s been going through some serious challenges (so if you could say a prayer or two for her, I’m sure it would be appreciated).

I forgot my regular camera today (not just at home, but in the other car), so while the photos are decent I had to toy with the white balance and contrast; I don’t know how accurate the results are, color-wise, but it’s passable on my computer. Your mileage may vary.

First, a gestural sketch.

And last, a charcoal sketch.

*

In between those first two, I did a color portrait.

Fear not, it gets better 😉

***

See? Better already.

***

***

And it’s done. There’s not actually quite such a difference between the brightness of these last two, I just didn’t crank it up on this one in order to save the details. The earlier images were much darker and grayer to start with, but the last couple actually came out brighter initially, and I’m too lazy to go back and reset the brightness on the second-to-last one.

-o.o-

This entry was posted in images, pastel, portrait, sketch. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friday Portrait, September 12

  1. walt says:

    Unhn . . . Walt like! The final one, your finished product, fairly glows!

  2. julie says:

    No ambiguity this week, I see!
    Thanks, Walt 😀

  3. dloye says:

    Ohhh, I’ve missed these. Thanks. Not only does the final product glow, the glow is centered in the eyes. Whatever her problems are she was delighted to be sitting for you. My ex does portraits, and he regularly botches hands. They must present a special challenge (re the gestural sketch)

  4. julie says:

    Hands can be tricky. I do alright with them, when I’m paying attention and when they’re still long enough for me to catch them,, but for this group since the focus is usually the head, our sitters tend to shift their hands around quite a lot. Which also makes getting the perspective on the forearms tricky (and if that’s wrong, the hands’ll look wonky no matter what).

Leave a Reply

