Presentable

Feathers unruffled

now he’s ready for action

one cool customer

-o.o-

This entry was posted in haiku, images and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Presentable

  1. Nice to see that he calmed down. 😉

  2. Linda says:

    These are great hummer photos-I’ve never seen them sit still that long!

  3. Webutante says:

    Woonderful pics, Julie.

    Recently a little hummingbird flew in my open French doors through the living room and up into one of the skylights in the entry hall. It started flying up through the clear window. When I heard the commotion I thought it was a bumble bee.

    After several failed attempts at netting the little hummingbird, I considered my options and ultimately came up with an idea that finally worked like a charm. I went to the broom closet and found my longest broom. Then after climbing up in a chair I drug in from the dining room, I lifted the broom straw up towards the little buzzing bird and inched it closer and closer. Suddenly as if it was hypnotized it flew into the straw and perched quietly. Was amazing. I gently lowered the broom with the now completely still hum-bird on it, walked back through the French doors out to the patio and it still didn’t move, even when it was outside. It was so happy on the straw that it stayed several minutes looking at me and allowing me to watch it closely. After a while, I started shaking the straw and got it flew off. But there was something about the straw in the broom that it loved. And I loved seeing it at extremely close range.

  4. julie says:

    That’s awesome, Webutante! I don’t know if I ever would have thought of using the broom that way. I’m glad it worked 🙂

  5. mushroom says:

    We have lots of ruby-throated hummers around in summer — or maybe just one really fast one. Several times I have seen them come in the garage when I open the overhead door. The plastic knob on the end of the manual release for the opener is red and dangles down a couple of feet when the door is up. The hummer will come in, check the knob and buzz out.

    The broom idea was inspired.

  6. Lucy says:

    Serious bird photo envy here!

Leave a Reply

