Friday (Substitute) Portrait

I’m playing hookey again today, so I thought I’d post an older painting from when I was in college; I don’t think I’ve posted this one before, though it’s possible since this blog has been going for nearly two years now. The medium is oil paint (liberally thinned with turpentine), slathered on and allowed to drip then wiped away with a turpentine-soaked rag. The subject is my lunch date, from a photograph. I kind of miss this technique. Maybe next time, I’ll give it a try…

-o.o-

This entry was posted in images, oil painting, portrait. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday (Substitute) Portrait

  1. Cool technique, makes his face jump right out of the canvas!

  2. julie says:

    Forgot to mention, too – the only colors I used in this were red, yellow and blue, which can work up to a good flesh tone when lifted beck off the canvas. I keep wishing the pastels would do the same, but they never do.

  3. dloye says:

    I too like what you achieve with this technique. And the blue! Oh the blue. A bit distracting in the hair, but it makes the face come to life.

Leave a Reply

