New Project

Some of you may have noticed I skipped my portrait class again on Friday. There were a couple of reasons for that, but the main one is that I wanted to get started on my next real project.

This time, I even have a deadline.

My little brother is getting married at the end of February, and has asked me to paint a portrait of him and his fiancee, which of course I’m only too happy to do. So for the next couple of weeks, as I make progress I’ll be posting it, hopefully not too sporadically.

Below is the initial sketch, which I traced using the projector. It’s rough, but the important thing is that all the important parts are where they belong. I’ve sprayed it with fixative, and it’s drying right now. At some point this afternoon, the fun begins πŸ™‚

sketch

This entry was posted in oil painting, portrait, wedding gift. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to New Project

  1. walt says:

    (pant … pant …) Gotta keep movin’ … no time to take a break … gotta keep up with Julie’s posts … (pant, pant) … one after another …

    Looks like an auspicious beginning!

  2. julie says:

    Funny thing is, I’ve been trying to pace myself on posting. All fall, it was a struggle to come up with any pictures worth sharing; January hits, and suddenly there’s a plethora! Ducks, hummingbirds, hidden grottoes, ballgames… I’ll have no shortage of material for a while πŸ˜€

  3. walt says:

    Inside data: no one knew! What may appear “stale” to the BlogMistress, is still “fresh” to the viewer. I mean, I get a kick out of your simple photos of bugs and leaves from your neck of the woods; it’s all “news” to me.

    On the other hand, feeling the rush of creativity and wanting to share it beats the heck out of “same-old/same-old.” I guess we should just feel grateful while that’s going on. Ahh, the torment of the Blogosphere!

  4. julie says:

    haha – and just now, I added even more to my treasure trove, breaking out the Eyeclops again. So the list now includes a hummingbird, lantana buds, and the cutest little pesky aphids you ever did see (they’re eating my oleander; I have mixed feelings about that, as it tends to grow insanely fast and big. Still, some ladybugs would be welcome).

  5. USS Ben says:

    Can’t wait to see the finished portrait. Congrats to your brother n’ fiance!

Leave a comment