Willowy – UPDATED

pic006

Put up your dukes, pal

octopussywillow* packs

one heckuva punch

-o.o-

*thanks, Robin 😉

flower-perspective1This is a wider view of the flowers. The actual size of a single bloom is probably 5 – 7mm. I really don’t know for certain what kind of tree this is, but it looks as though it should be some kind of willow – long, drapey viney branches, small pointy leaves, sturdy trunk. Unpruned, the branches would sweep the ground. The flowers are almost unnoticeable, unless you’re paying attention.

It’s not a weeping willow, but beyond that I don’t know. I am certain it’s not an Arizona native, though.

Second Update: Walt has discovered what my tree is – it’s a mayten, not a willow, something I’d never heard of before. They should have called it a pseudowillow 🙂

This entry was posted in Eyeclops, flowers, haiku, images, microcosm. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Willowy – UPDATED

  1. walt says:

    I’m confused! I mean, that’s not news, but I’m confused by your photos. I’ve never seen a willow bloom before. I’ve seen pussywillows, but not with blooms like these. So I don’t know whether it’s the closeness of the photo, or a variety I’ve never seen, or a plant by a different name … or what?

    Having explained my narcissistic conundrum, they’re nice photos!

  2. walt says:

    Any chance it’s a
    Mayten
    tree? They look like willows, but are evergreen, not deciduous. They are more suited to your climate. I Googled “Mayten tree photos” and got several pictures that show the form — but to the casual observer, they just look like willows. As far as I know, willows all produce “catkins” as flowers. The pic in the link looks “similar” to your photos in structure.

  3. julie says:

    Oh! Yep, that looks like it. I knew you’d probably figure it out 🙂

  4. Clever girl, photographing the stems on top of some wonderful artwork of your own. As above, so below…?

  5. julie says:

    Good eye, Joan. I figure I may as well use ’em for something besides shelf liner 😉

Leave a Reply

