Flying Field

P1140409

Individuals

strive to fly as with one mind

strange attractors’ dance

-o.o-

(Phew – remembered it!)

This entry was posted in ephemera, haiku, images. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Flying Field

  1. DH says:

    fill in last line here

  2. julie says:

    WTF WordPress? This site has been irritatingly buggy lately.
    There was a last line. And of course, now I can’t remember it. When it comes to me, I’ll put it back in.
    (Thanks, Babe!)

  3. DH says:

    WTF WordPress? Sounds like the title of a new song. Sort of like “Calm down people” but about wordpress.

    Speaking of songs, I see the brothers Finn are infiltrating your haikus again. Glad to help.

  4. julie says:

    Hah – nope, they just borrowed my idea in advance 😉

  5. walt says:

    Very funny — WP ate your line, and earlier I couldn’t get the photo to load more than a tiny strip of blue at the top. So I was pondering a two-line haiku and a “no-see-um” illustration. But I’ve learned from you that patience is a virtue!

  6. julie says:

    Yes, now if only I could practice it!

  7. walt says:

    Interestingly, in Alexander Technique they teach “inhibition,” which was Alexander’s term for learning to pause between stimulus and response (relative to movement, in his case). The word ‘inhibition’ has kind of a negative connotation in modern usage, since it sounds like “repression” or “deprivation.” But Alexander taught the usefulness of inserting awareness between the impulse to act — and then keeping it there, until one could make a conscious, directed act. Recently, my teacher equated ‘patience’ with the practice of ‘inhibition.’

    Sometimes, merely by replacing a word/concept we struggle with (patience, in your case) with another, synonymous word that we can relate to, what was difficult becomes easy. For instance, I never could “save” money for the life of me, but I noticed at some point that I certainly had no problem accumulating stuff! After that, I succeeded in “accumulating” money. Thank goodness I didn’t have to “save” it, since that was just beyond me!

    You might ask your Pilates teacher about inhibition. Pilates incorporates ideas from various disciplines, including Alexander Technique. Perhaps this would give you clues about patience.

  8. julie says:

    See, Walt – this is why we missed you 🙂

    That’s not a bad way to think of it. Actually, for the most part I have a better grasp of patience than I often represent. It all depends on what I’m anticipating. When I bring it up, it’s usually in reference to specific aspects of patience, tied in with concepts such as vertical surrender and activated slack, which I am trying to develop; I suspect it’ll be a lifelong pursuit.

  9. mushroom says:

    Do you all have any idea how hard I have to work to make up for all the time I spend reading your comments.

    That doesn’t mean you should stop.

    It means they shouldn’t work me so hard. Priorities, man.

  10. Bob Agard says:

    Are they on there way back to their summer pond in Colorado?

Leave a Reply

