Two out of Three

P1140849

(click for bigger)

Eleventh lesson

from a century and change

Arinda’s textbook

-o.o-

UPDATE: A little more of the backstory behind this photo can be found here.

This entry was posted in haiku, images and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Two out of Three

  1. Modern NEA Version:

    if a train leaves Rome
    in 1121
    how gay is the pope?

  2. walt says:

    The book is called Mental Arithmetic.

    Huh???

    Why din’t they just use calculators? Hah?

  3. Mom says:

    Hi Julie, That book is closer to two hundred years old! Published in October 1849… Now do the math Dear lol!

    Mom

  4. julie says:

    160 years; still technically a century and change…
    I do have an excuse, though – I didn’t have a picture of the copyright date. 🙂

  5. mushroom says:

    Is Mom a teacher? I guessing not Comp&Rhet.

    Meatloaf or Mars Attacks — “Two out of three ain’t bad.”

  6. julie says:

    My Mom is a teacher, certainly – she taught me to be me, after all – but she’s not an educator. A caregiver, lifelong scholar, and an afficionado of history. Not, however, an afficionado of computer keyboards.

    The book is a family heirloom, left with Mom just a couple weekends ago by a man who grew up in the house that belonged to my great-grandmother. It belonged to Arinda Aray, who died of tuberculosis in 1865 at age 13. If it was published in 1849, the schools must have been getting quite a bit of mileage out of it. I don’t know the turnover rate for school textbooks these days, but I bet it’s probably less than ten years.

  7. mushroom says:

    Mom did a good job. I didn’t know she was your mom. I apologize for coming off sarcastically.

    Yes, I think textbooks, even back in my day lasted several years. In the old one-room schools funded only by the locals, books were kept as long as they held together and defacing or damage was probably punishable by a near-death experience.

  8. julie says:

    It’s interesting you should note that, Mushroom. This book actually has Arinda’s name written in it (and nobody else’s), suggesting that the students had to purchase their own school books back then, or at least at her particular school. When I was growing up, I think they updated the textbooks every few years, to keep up with new concepts and current events, but they were usually so battered that it’s hard to say how often this happened.

  9. Mom says:

    Hi again… I’m sitting here giggling, I didn’t have a daughter or grandchild here to take dictation today so you know how it goes. Ha ha.

    I was just thinking of the inexplicable chance of this man {Rory Vison} carrying this old stuff around for fifty years, {Heck, I don’t know where my last utility bill is!} and here he is living in the next town, over two thousand miles from the origin of our family and the origin of my birth place, the origin of Arinda, and the origin of Rory.

    For fifty years everything was going through changes. I lived in Seattle, Panama, Texas, England, and now Spokane.
    The rug was shaken and this is how and where it settled.
    There is a hand in this.
    I’ll bet the mathmatical chances are astronomical… or perhaps there is a little spirit called Arinda, who’s story must be told!

    Books were very valued. The schools did not provide them, they were passed down generation to generation. In fact at the time this book was published, not many people read or wrote. Education was not organized, many schools were set up by churches or private individuals. Many were taught in their own homes. Life was all about hard work and survival. Most children were needed to work the farms and take part in the daily struggle. It would have been unthinkable to “idle” away your time studying! I’m sure many a child was punished for expressing the desire to book learn.

    In our modern world when we have pens and pencils scattered around our homes. Books and magazines. When we are considering cutting down the U.S. Postal Service because people don’t write anymore {and we are sick of the junk mail} perhaps we should consider how valuable a piece of scrap paper, or a stub of a pencil was.
    Mom

  10. julie says:

    Indeed 😀
    Thanks, Mom!

  11. cynthia Sherman says:

    This book could be used by students today. The story problems are an excellent way to develop critical thinking.

  12. julie says:

    Hi Cindy!
    I agree – it’s funny, I can’t look at the page and not try to solve the problems, even though they are pretty simple.

    I still remember when you gave me some fun workbooks for Christmas once, way back when we lived in England. There were a couple – one with math, and one with writing, maybe one other book. I really enjoyed working on those; I think they gave me a lifelong addiction to game & puzzle books.

  13. Rory says:

    “I was just thinking of the inexplicable chance of this man {Rory Vinson} carrying this old stuff around for fifty years……..”

    It’s not inexplicable at all. It was pure faith that I would find you and your family……and that you would be able to answer the questions and wonders that I “carried around” for those fifty years. You have no idea how happy I was to see those items go back to the family that deserved to have them.

    Rory

  14. julie says:

    It was a real pleasure meeting you last summer, Rory. I’m so glad you kept those things all those years.

    Happy Easter to you & yours!

Leave a Reply

