Miner’s Mandala

P1150241_40_39

Fortuna’s wheel spins

relic of a bygone age

turn to let off steam

-o.o-

(Actually, I’m not sure what this was for. There were parts of a pneumatic drill down below, so my best guess is some kind of pressure valve, but what do I know?)

This entry was posted in haiku, images. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Miner’s Mandala

  1. walt says:

    Thubten Chodron has her monastery (Sravasti) up near Spokane, and their symbol is the Dharma Wheel, so maybe those miners … nah! But it is a nice piece of work, isn’t it?

    Those two long curved objects in the top left area are, I believe, used to harness horses or mules that pull wagons, or implements. There were some of them like that left on the old farm where I grew up. My brother and I figured they made fine toy rifles, and shot many a bad guy with their help.

    Lots of roofs and siding were made of corrugated tin in the old days; probably illegal now. Rain on a tin roof was purty interesting!

  2. julie says:

    I think you’re right about the harnesses. This picture is from closer to home, a local ghost town (video with sound starts when you open the page). Niece and I went out there a couple Saturdays back, to see what we could see. The mine tour was instructive; I now know what a honey dipper was. I don’t think you could pay me enough for that particular job…

  3. Lucy says:

    It’s a beautiful thing, I love those blue lights you get in rusty iron…

    Been meaning to say, your photos get better and better.

  4. julie says:

    Thanks, Lucy. Yours do, too.

Leave a Reply

