Mismanaged Growth

P1160313_2_1

elephantine whorls

of cellular mutiny

absorbing pattern

-o.o-

I find this fascinating but also disturbing. The rest of the plant is normal, a standard saguaro with a couple of arm-like branches sticking out and elbowing up. Clearly, this part is all wrong, but at the same time the lines and curves draw one to stare, seeking meaning in disorder.

This entry was posted in haiku, images and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mismanaged Growth

  1. What an interesting picture, for all the same reasons you state. It’s really arresting, but in this case, it’s polite to stare!

  2. julie says:

    😀
    Yes, that was another thought I had this morning: At least the cactus won’t be bothered by our staring!

  3. Is it just a random weird growth pattern, or a sign of a disease? It’s cool looking. A bit like those strange dogs with the multiple folds of skin.

  4. My God, it’s a map of the new healthcare system.

  5. julie says:

    *snork*
    Robin, you almost made me bathe my screen with my evening snack. But now that you mention it, yes, the resemblance is uncanny.

    Retriever, I honestly don’t know. It looks very tumor-like to me, but then a lot of what normally grows out of cacti just looks wrong to me.

Leave a Reply

