Neighbor

wisdom of ages

may rest in his gaze, but it’s

made him an old crank

-o.o-

This entry was posted in haiku, images. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Neighbor

  1. DH says:

    Who knows what evil
    lurks deep in the hearts of men?
    Who indeed. Who? Who?

  2. julie says:

    I think the owl knows, but probably only because he stares in peoples’ windows at night.

  3. mushroom says:

    I just watched Rear Window — now we have a nosey hooter.

  4. Wooohooo! What a gorgeous creature! How did you get the shot? What lens? Am envious as I have been stalking a reputed barn owl in a holly grove near us for weeks without spotting it…Love this picture.

  5. julie says:

    It’s all happenstance, I’m afraid – my usual camera, a Panasonic Lumix, combined with DH taking the dogs out front to play at the same time as our neighbor across the street was walking her dogs. The tree is in her front yard, and she’s been watching the owls in recent weeks (this is half of a pair, apparently), so when DH came out she pointed this one out to him. He dashed inside to tell me to bring my camera, and voila! I don’t think the owl was very pleased at having his picture taken, though.

  6. Sparrow says:

    I’m jealous too! I have a great horned owl living in the trees around my house and aside from seeing him one night three years ago on top of my 75 foot pine tree (which has since come crashing down, barely missing my garage!), I haven’t been able to locate him. They are very cagey!

  7. julie says:

    Yes, they are! It’s funny, though – the couple of times I’ve seen one, it’s been pretty set on staying in the same spot and looking with disdain upon any intruders 🙂

Leave a Reply

