Friday Portrait

I didn’t catch the name of today’s sitter, unfortunately. She had a great expression, though. I also arrived late while she had to leave early, so there was only time for one sketch, with which I am not thrilled.

I made the mistake of starting with a circle for the head shape, when really it should have been more of an oval. This is what happens when you start with an abstraction and fail to alter your model to fit reality. There may be some accurate elements, but over all the picture is wonky. This also explains why the warm up sketch is useful – I can get the weird mental kinks out before getting serious.

Ah, well – live and learn. Thanks to the holidays, I won’t be back there until next year. I’ll have to try and remember this lesson. Also, try getting out of bed on time…

-o.o-

This entry was posted in portrait, sketch. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Friday Portrait

  1. snoopmurph says:

    Maybe I’ll try an oval on my stick figures next time and see if they are more realistic! Good tip! I think you did a fine job for only one sketch. She does have a nice expression.

  2. walt says:

    Looks like you got the mouth and chin really well! Is ‘wonky’ a technical term?

  3. Mom says:

    Hey, You’re expecting. Go ahead and sleep in while you still can!

  4. julie says:

    I’m trying 🙂
    The past few weeks have been pretty busy, though. They finally caught up to me yesterday. I still don’t know how people manage to be pregnant while having a real job.

Leave a Reply

