Ashes to Dust

light revealed in a

miniature myriad

dancing reflectors

-o.o-

Time to shake thing up around here a bit, kick off some of the old dust and put a clean face on this place. Forty days of silence in some of the places I spoke most frequently has been good for a little perspective; turns out, maybe I’ll have a little more to say here from time to time, for anyone interested in reading.

And so, in a sense, it begins. And as a beginning, I guess I’ll start with my first principles here. Maybe the only principle, but ultimately the only one that matters because all else flows from this: God is. For me, that’s not a statement of faith, it’s simply what I know to be True. Of course, if you disagree or haven’t made up your mind on that score, I can’t prove it to you (and I’m not interested in trying – this is not a place for apologetics), but 99% of what I do here is a meager attempt to express some of the ways I know that.

***

When I was a kid, I spent many a lazy summer afternoon sitting in the living room at the old house, watching TV or otherwise entertaining myself on the floor by the big front windows, as kids do. Outside, tall trees provided a dense shade, but when the sun was just right, bright beams would sparkle down through the windows. When that happened, I was always astounded at the amount and variety of dust in the air, gleaming gold and still in the rays. It was captivating; sometimes, I’d try to stir the dust with a wave of my hand, but mostly it didn’t move around much, just gently drifted and shone, a miniature mystery containing a tantalizing balance of elements knowable and unknowable.

Older and slightly wiser, the mystery still calls my attention. One of the remarkable things about light is that without something from which to reflect (and assuming you can’t see the source), it is invisible. That’s why so much of space appears dark, even though it is literally flooded with the light of galaxies that number somewhere close to infinite – there’s very little for all that starlight to bounce from. The brightest beam would fail to illuminate even the darkest cave, were it to somehow pass through unsourced and untouched.

Of course, as below, so above. And so for my part, I aim to be as one of those myriad billions of tiny flecks of dust. Unremarkable in myself, but perhaps if I happen to be there, gleaming in the right time and place, I’ll be doing my tiny part to reveal the presence of a beam that would have otherwise gone unseen and unknown by those drifting along in the apparent dark.

This entry was posted in haiku, O!, the Mystery. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ashes to Dust

  1. walt says:

    Look!
    Look, n’ see!
    A “new look” for one of the good lookin’ amongst us!
    Freddie Prince would say, “Lookin’ good!”… except he can’t.

    I say, Julie, you “reveal the presence of a beam” just by showing up! Good luck from here on . . . .

  2. julie says:

    Thanks, Walt – I’m going to need it 😉

  3. dloye says:

    He is risen indeed!

    Nice “light” thoughts. Your faith is a blessing. Thanks for sharing.

  4. f/zero says:

    Bon motes! 😉

    Love the new paint job too.

  5. Cathy says:

    ” . . if I happen to be there, gleaming in the right time and place, I’ll be doing my tiny part to reveal the presence of a beam that would have otherwise gone unseen and unknown by those drifting along in the apparent dark.”

    Julie. That is a beautiful statement of hope and faith. Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

