Moonlight Apogee

closing down the park

swept up in a timeless task

reaching for the sky

-o.o-

I read the Anchoress most days, though I don’t always agree with her perspective. On this, though, I think she makes an excellent point:

I fear that over the past decade ideology has become an idol for many, that the distinction between what is sacred and what is holy is being ignored. I can’t help but wonder about that. If the world is being inexorably moved toward a certain destiny, and if Christians are supposedly on board with that destiny, then the attempt on the right to put the brakes on things, and “go back” to the way things were seems like cognitive dissonance, doesn’t it?

It makes sense that in order for things to happen other things have to happen; not necessarily things we like to see. But then we are called on to walk by faith, not by sight, to keep our eyes on the prize. And the prize is not this world; it is not of this world, either.

I write this not to be argumentative, or to indict anyone – and let me just head some of you off the at the pass and declare that I am not saying “just throw America away!” … I am not saying “just lay down and surrender.” But I am saying this: understand that to some extent, things must happen in order for other things to happen, and that this world is a pit-stop, not a destination. We cannot forget that. Where you heart is, that is your treasure. I am embracing exile; I don’t want to tie my treasure to anything earthbound.

Like many things she says, it sticks with me, because in a lot of ways I feel the same. What’s happening now, and whatever results, is in truth nothing new in the history of man, no matter how modern it seems.

And yet, there’s a flipside, a counterpoint to that arc which helps to hold up the Keystone. This life is not the Deustination, it’s true. But this life, this living, this anomaly of time played out in the midst of eternity obviously matters, else why the process of birth and death and discovery and growth? Moments of timelessness, like the infinitesimal pause at the top of the swing’s arc on a moonlit night filled with high, innocent laughter, have a holiness all their own.

Not sure what I’m getting at, exactly; perhaps the point is to strive for the ideal while realizing that it is already, here and now. The vertical reaches down to the horizontal, ever and always; it is part of our task, here in the flatlands, to notice when it happens. There are treasures not of this world, but they are here, nonetheless, for all to see. We have an abundance of them, maybe moreso than at any point in history. They are absolutely worth defending.

This entry was posted in ephemera, haiku, the Mystery. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Moonlight Apogee

  1. Retriever says:

    Haunting picture and great post. Part of the grace of motherhood embraced is an expands awareness and understanding of the way things are. Nothing like a wee bairn both to remind one that we are flesh and to stir the spirit.

    Now, how’s that cub growing, dear mama bear? 🙂

  2. julie says:

    He’s growing like a weed, or so it seems; I’m not sure how much more my belly can grow 😀

    Just about four more weeks, give or take…

  3. mushroom says:

    perhaps the point is to strive for the ideal while realizing that it is already, here and now

    I think so. I’m kind of catching on that saying “whatever” leads to more of the same only worse until I reach a point where I have no choice but to strive or lose my soul. But as you say, it is a pointless struggle unless we know we already possess it. I strive for freedom because I am free. I strive to be holy because I am holy.

    Four weeks — I’m putting my money on May 26th.

  4. julie says:

    You may well be right, Mushroom.
    The due date is June 1st, but I’ll be surprised if that’s when he decides to make his appearance.

  5. Teresa says:

    It’s always amazing how you think you can’t get larger… and then you do because the baby does. Heh. Elephants got out of my way when I was in my last month with both my kids. Heh.

    ***
    What I try to do is to keep a cursory eye on world affairs – those things I cannot change. I want to have an idea of what is going on. But I place my concentration more with the things I can change.

    To be in a constant state of anxiety over events of which I have no control is counter productive. I will periodically opine about things that bother me, but once I’ve done so, I have to walk away lest it swallow me. That’s why I stopped blogging on political stuff for the most part. Sadly I have also had to stop reading many posts from wonderful bloggers because they can’t stop. NOT that I want to dictate what they blog or say it’s wrong! No not at all. Just that my mental state is important to me and I can’t live on a constant diet of dread. So I choose to not get wrapped up in those things.

    All in all – it’s hard to put into words, but I think the Anchoress is saying it’s too easy to fall into the “Chicken Little” trap. And that trap is a very easy place to get stuck. To the point that everything looks bad all the time.

    I now go for those things I find I can take a fun jab at when I do look at world affairs. And try to remind myself every day that there are excellent things in the world I don’t want to miss.

  6. USS Ben says:

    And yet, there’s a flipside, a counterpoint to that arc which helps to hold up the Keystone. This life is not the Deustination, it’s true. But this life, this living, this anomaly of time played out in the midst of eternity obviously matters, else why the process of birth and death and discovery and growth? Moments of timelessness, like the infinitesimal pause at the top of the swing’s arc on a moonlit night filled with high, innocent laughter, have a holiness all their own.”

    Well said, Julie, and thanks!
    It’s good to have that greater perspective. We can’t allow ourselves to just wait the storm out, so to speak. We gotta fullfill our deustinies. :^)

  7. Bob Agard says:

    Julie,
    I didn’t know! Congratulations! I am so happy for the three of you. And, great post!

Leave a Reply

