Friday Portrait, May 14

I didn’t catch her name, but the reading pose was an unusual one (and welcome, as it helped keep away the “Deer-in-the-headlights look that people tend to get after a while). Working with watercolor pencils again, I only did one drawing, so remembered to record the process this time.

***

***

I decided to go back to the primary colors today. They make it easier to stop worrying about exactitude of flesh tone, and focus instead on light and shadow. Plus I just like how they interact.

-o.o-

This entry was posted in portrait, sketch, watercolor pencils. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Friday Portrait, May 14

  1. Teresa says:

    Oh for some reason I love love love this one. I would have been happy with the pencil sketch – it is excellent!

  2. snoopmurph says:

    Great job! I liked the colors you chose.

  3. Cathy says:

    That’s remarkable, Julie. I know very little about palettes, but it’s very interesting getting your take on using primary colors to help focus on light and shadow. I think I get it!

  4. Sal says:

    This one is very appealing. Nice capture. Love the colors.
    Send me an e-mail at sbb19@hotmail.com, please?
    I have a sweater for someone…

  5. Love it…and starting to brood pleasantly about something to send the impending arrival. Tho haven’t had time to make anything, have all kinds of ideas…How are you feeling?

  6. julie says:

    Thanks for asking, Retriever. I’m feeling very well, if a bit overstuffed 🙂 Another week and I think I’m going to be getting quite impatient for the little guy to make his appearance.

Leave a Reply

