Back in the Saddle

It doesn’t take much time at all to make a big difference.

Before:

After:

Granted, the after photo is a bit more blurry, but I was juggling the baby and camera. I think the improvement is apparent, anyway.

One more thing that’s very useful about blogging the day’s results is it gives me a chance to look at a remove, almost as though I hadn’t seen the painting before. Errors which are easily overlooked when standing directly in front of the canvas become readily apparent on the computer screen.

-o.o-

This entry was posted in oil painting, portrait, wedding gift. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back in the Saddle

  1. retriever says:

    You are amazing, Julie! I admire you so much. So much talent as an artist, and happy as a mother at the same time. I am happy for you, as my mother-in-law was an extremely gifted painter, sculptor and always told me how once she had my husband she simply could not paint for years (I think she was so stressed out by motherhood).
    Hope you are still enjoying choir, also.

  2. julie says:

    Thanks, Retriever! I think one of the blessings of having a child as late as I did (even though we hoped it would happen a lot sooner) is that I was forced to make sure that I had a strong sense of myself not just as housewife but as a whole person – hence the Chorale and the portrait group on Fridays. In that time, it’s become very apparent to me that it’s just as important, if not more so, to maintain that sense of self in being a mother. If all I do is focus intently on the baby, I’m going to drive us both up the wall! Having these outlets helps to drive the stress down for me, and thus for him, too.

Leave a Reply

