Bonus Sketch

This week, Apple took the horrific step of adding an app store to my main computer. Which meant that I had to look, and I ended up getting suckered into buying Sketchbook Pro for $30. Those bastards. As a result, I might actually get some more drawing done, turning this place into less of a photo blog and more of an online refrigerator on which to place my scribblings. Anyway, I’m quite taken with the software, which, when coupled with a graphic tablet and pen, does a decent job of replicating various drawing media, sans the mess and toxic chemicals.

So here’s a “pencil” and “charcoal” sketch, from a photo I took today (though I did not trace the original):

Yes, I think there are some possibilities with this little gadget…

-o.o-

 

This entry was posted in digital drawing, sketch. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bonus Sketch

  1. Susannah says:

    That… is very cool.

  2. No kidding. I gotta say. !

  3. Whoa, that’s the most I’ve been tempted to go Mac ever. That’s impressive work, like always, but the idea of just sitting down and creating that, as you say, without all the attendant fuss is quite the thing. Just look at the smudges!

    Want!

  4. julie says:

    Right?

    The only thing missing are the hand and fingerprints I always accidentally leave on the paper! It doesn’t replace working with the real stuff, but it’s miles beyond anything I’ve worked with before. And the ability to just “undo”… I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been working on something in real life, put in a bad stroke or line, or just clumsily blobbed some paint where it has no business going, and actually thought “ctrl z,” followed by “doh!” And while there’s much to be said about just having to deal with it and figure out how to fix it or work with it as a happy accident, sometimes just backing up and trying again is so much better for one’s sanity…

    Add in the fact that the baby can’t eat my art supplies this way, and I think I’m in luuurve.

  5. USS Ben says:

    What’s not to like? Excellent sketch! đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

