Surreal, Sublime… and Troubling…

Via The Fug Girls, I came across this Tumblr blog, New Albany.  I highly suggest starting at the beginning, and catching up to the present, although going backwards may work just as well. Starting at her most recent post, I thought, “Holy crap – how did she get here??” and then had to read the entire thing.

I am inclined to think that perhaps this is an elaborate and well-written piece of fiction; for a 15-year old kid – heck, for most adults I know – her writing abilities are suspiciously excellent, and the photography is really quite lovely, again maybe better than you’d expect for someone her age. As the posts go along, the pacing is such that it really reads like a well-written story. Plus as you go through the entries, the whole situation is so f’ed-up crazy and heartbreaking, I actually really want this to be fake. As a story and a work of art, I would simply have to applaud. As real life, I’d have to be really worried. Especially with the most recent entry.

Anyway, go read. If it’s fake, I guarantee you won’t be sorry; if it’s real, maybe if enough people are paying attention the author and her friend can get some help, if necessary. And you still won’t be sorry for giving her a bit of your time.

-o.o-

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Surreal, Sublime… and Troubling…

  1. mushroom says:

    I haven’t had time to work through it, but what I’ve read pushes me toward very well-done, non-fifteen-year-old fiction. The level of self-awareness versus typical self-consciousness in evidence at that age is pretty incredible. Not that it couldn’t be, I just doubt it.

    There’s a tone about it that resembles Catcher, and she mentions Salinger as a hero.

    Also, I find it hard to believe that she loves Bowie, the Doors, and the Cars — again, that, with the hating of current pop musicians would be typical of Holden Caulfield.

    I could be wrong. In any case, it is fascinating reading. Thank you for the link.

  2. julie says:

    Thanks, Mushroom, and I’m glad it wasn’t just me. I agree; it’s certainly possible that this could be the work of a kid, but it just seems too polished.

  3. DH says:

    This is a work of fiction. Not only is this person a good writer and far too self-aware to be 15, but real life is not so narratively tidy, is not rife with obvious foreshadowing and central-casting villains.

Leave a Reply

