Change of Scenery

Spring’s light is calling

pulled back from the mother’s view

all the world to see

***

Something about new motherhood has made it difficult for me to focus on anything much besides the baby. Partly because, I suppose, everyone finds their own kid fascinating. And partly because I’m beginning to feel that if I look away for even a moment, my sweet little angel will wreak untold havoc, and before I know it I’ll be posting pictures here, instead. Or he’ll start walking (any minute now), and I’ll miss it. All the usual stuff. The point being, anyway, that the past few months have been less than conducive to photographic creativity that doesn’t involve pictures of The Boy.

Thankfully, I seem to be waking up again to the knowledge that there is endless beauty out there, if I’m willing to take the time to go see it. And now I can bring the stroller along, and have a little someone to share it with. On that note, this morning we took a trip to a local riparian preserve, where some of my portrait class friends were planning to do a bit of plein air painting. It was good, and now I have pictures, finally, enough for a couple of weeks’ entertainment.

I may be a bit rusty, but it’s a start.

-o.o-

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Change of Scenery

  1. MizzE says:

    LIKE! 🙂 Oh the places you will go! God made the world round so we can’t see all the wonderful surprises up around the bend.

  2. Teresa says:

    Not to worry, you only get one time through with your child. Early on they change so fast. As they get older the changes slow and that’s when you have time to concentrate on other things.

    The rest of the world’s wonders renew themselves constantly and will be there when you have time again.

  3. mushroom says:

    We got lots of rain yesterday, and I managed to get my wife out of the house for a little while. We took a little detour to enjoy the effects of spring-like rains on the creeks. It looked a lot like that.

  4. Cathy says:

    It’s been 43 years since my son was your little fella’s age. I so understand your quandary. I know you hear from us old moms that it goes so fast, but when you’re living it . . . these days can be long and lonely.

    It’s good that you’re getting out and still being creative. So much beauty and joy to be had and so little time :0)

  5. Skully says:

    Nice photo, Julie!
    Thanks for the funny link. :^)

Leave a Reply

