Friday Portrait, March 25

Today I’m working with a new medium: iPad, with Sketchbook Pro app. I also made the mistake of using the iPad’s camera to take a photo of today’s subject, Joe:

As you can see, the iPad’s camera can best be described as “impressionistic.” Fortunately, that’s not the reason I wanted one πŸ˜‰

One of the cool things about Sketchbook is that I can save my progress. Today’s drawing took about a half hour, total.

I’m still getting the hang of this thing, but so far I like it. It’s not exactly the same as real media, but the ability to work in layers combined with the lack of messy and dangerous substances for the baby to grab at have made me quite happy so far.

-o.o-

This entry was posted in portrait, sketch. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Friday Portrait, March 25

  1. Susannah says:

    That is very impressive, Julie! I’m amazed!

  2. Rick says:

    Wow! That’s great, Julie. Really nice results.
    Did you just get the iPad2?
    I just got one this week — as a replacement for lugging a laptop on travel. And for impulse writing πŸ™‚
    But you can draw thin lines like that on it? With your finger? That’s remarkable..

  3. Rick says:

    Btw, I’m enjoying the CD you sent very much. Blown away actually.
    Thanks again!

  4. julie says:

    Yep, we did get the iPad2. And also yep, you can draw like that with your finger. Or with a stylus; I actually used both today. For line work I’d still rather hold something pen-style, because the gestural motions are a little different.

    And I’m glad you liked the CD! I really think it’s one of our best.

  5. Rick says:

    Yea, its great, Julie. I like the readings in between too. That guy’s got a great voice.
    I didn’t know know the iPad could work with a stylus. Right on the screen/glass?..or some kind of blue tooth deal?
    I would prefer a stylus too..where do you get them?

  6. julie says:

    It’s not Bluetooth, it’s basically just a pen shaft with a tip that acts like a fingertip on the screen. Mine was $20 at Target; I didn’t see any at Walmart, but probably anywhere else you can buy iPad accessories will have them.

    The guy who did the readings is named “Rock.” Fitting, no?

  7. snoopmurph says:

    Love it! I want to see this when we catch up again.

  8. Rick says:

    Fitting indeed, Julie.
    I’ll have to get a stylus. Thanks for the “tip”!
    πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

