Friday Portrait, September 9

Today’s sitter was the lovely Joanne.

This entry was posted in iPad, portrait. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friday Portrait, September 9

  1. mushroom says:

    Looks like she has a lot of character and strength.

  2. Julie says:

    Yes, I had that impression, too.

  3. Richard Paul Fernandes says:

    These are getting more sculptural. Like Van Gogh’s portraits. Now that you’ve been doing these for some time on the iPad, Julie, I wonder what your next portrait would look like if you switched back suddenly to charcoal or pastels. In other words, what quality would be retained from the iPad “exercises”? Thinking sort of how Mickey tied Rocky’s left arm to his waist during training. I’m not sure that was done entirely to trick his opponent at the last minute but to also strengthen or enhance Rocky’s left arm’s natural potential.
    Btw, when you do these, is the iPad on your lap? On an eisel? Or..?

  4. Julie says:

    Good couple of questions, Rick. I’m not sure what would happen if I switched back to charcoal and paper, although it has crossed my mind. One thing with the iPad is it’s very forgiving of error; laying down new color over old is much less likely to result in mud. That said, it’s also forced me to be less timid with light and shadow. I have a tendency to avoid getting too dark (weirdly, I don’t like to assert myself artistically, and visually speaking darkness is presence, solidity, and also tough to erase if you screw up), but on the iPad it’s easier to see how avoiding the darks flattens the image. It would be good to take that lesson back to paper.

    As to how I work, usually I stand and hold it in my left hand. If I’m working with pencil or charcoal and a notebook, same thing. I do have an easel, too, but save that for paintings and bigger papers.

Leave a Reply

