Kerplunk

IMG_3291_2_3_tonemappedIn my backyard, there is a big mango tree, laden with luscious green fruit. Or at least, it was. I’ve been noticing lately that more of them end up on the ground than can be accounted for by the wind.

So the other day, the kids and I were playing back there, when I noticed a squirrel sneaking up into my tree. There was some commotion up in the branches, then Thunk! Down comes a big green mango. More rustling, then another, and another. Little bastard. So of course, my children wander over, because there are Interesting Things on the ground, especially sticks, and no sooner do I advise them to get out from under the tree than the bastard squirrel drops a mango on my girl’s head. No harm done, thankfully, but I’m suddenly very glad we don’t have coconuts.

On an unrelated note, I’m suddenly taking an interest in airsoft guns…

-o.o-

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Kerplunk

  1. USS Ben says:

    Glad she wasn’t hurt. Damn squirrel bombadiers! I can prolly find you some good squirrel recipes if you want. 🙂

  2. USS Ben says:

    We have squirrels and chipmunks. They like hazlenuts and apples.

  3. julie says:

    I never minded having a squirrel in the neighborhood, until I realized what he was up to…

  4. mushroom says:

    You shouldn’t have to worry about backstops or municipal ordinances with Airsoft. Do any of the Airsoft pellets have paint? Splattering him with a paintball gun would really freak him out.

  5. Cathy Wilson says:

    No way!! Grrrrrrr. .. .
    I have a great fondness for wild things . . . “unless” . . .
    they have “me” on their menu . . or drop mango’s on a sweet girl’s head.

  6. Bob Agard says:

    Mangos are my favorite fruit. It is awesome that you have a mango tree! I am sure Jon and Greg would be willing to loan you their paint guns for such a worthy cause, but you could buy one yourself from Amazon for less than the airfare to the Rocky Mountains! You cannot let this injustice stand (or fall on your precious little girl’s head).

  7. John says:

    Nah! You need a BB gun. I’ve killed lots of tree rats with one. A top of the line Daisy will do. Mine shoots pellets/BBs at about 800 feet per second. Shoot them in a soft spot, say under the chin.

  8. Knucklehead says:

    Get some of those vibrating “mole repellant” stakes in the ground thingies. They don’t do much to chase moles away but they seem to keep squirrels away. And yes, squirrels throw things at people who are nearby underneath them. I have lots of oak trees and squirrels love acorns.

  9. julie says:

    I had never heard of those before. Thanks! I may give them a try next year.

Leave a Reply

