Demonstration

Look at the subject

with different perspective

to find  your  errors

-o.o-

This entry was posted in haiku, images. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Demonstration

  1. walt says:

    Without actually knowing the details, it’s still an interesting image to ponder. And, it anticipates what I was planning to post Fri or Sat re your Question.

  2. julie says:

    Mornin’, Walt! The details don’t alter the meaning much, if at all – it was an artist demonstration at my art league meeting this week, and he was looking at both his painting and the model in a mirror (with one eye closed, and the other switching focus rapidly between model and drawing) to see where he had gone wrong. The reasoning was that, when you’ve been looking at your drawing for a while, your brain starts to automatically “right” the parts where you’ve gone wrong, so you literally cannot see where your drawing and the model differ (or your map and the coastline, if you will). Looking at both in the mirror tricks the brain out of its complacency, and allows the artist to see the errors.

  3. walt says:

    That’s what I thought was going on. And it’s a terrific method and metaphor for understanding your Question — which I don’t mean to dote on, but I’ve rather adopted it as my Question as well. I’ll explain more tomorrow or Sat; still sorting out data about the whole thing.

    Anyway, yes: the new-angle-by-the-mirror technique is very interesting!

  4. julie says:

    Actually, Walt, I’m delighted that someone else found the Question as interesting as I did 🙂 I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with!

  5. USS Ben says:

    What an exellent idea, and I’m glad to see it adopted in a metaphysical sense! Sometimes we’re just too close (or too far) to/from the Work to see where the error(s) is/are.
    Or obstacles, barriers, innerrutions, etc., etc..

    Great post, Julie!

  6. Bob Agard says:

    The haiku is so true. Sometimes, though, we are not in error. It is the subject itself that is in error.

Leave a comment