Full Circle and Bleg

For a while now, I’ve been trying to decide what direction I should take this space. I don’t want to be a mommy blogger – there’s nothing wrong with that, but it’s not my style. I’ll probably still do some photography, but as a focus there are so many more talented photographers out there that I’m not sure I want to continue with that as the main emphasis. Besides, daily doses of Motel Zero are humbling in the extreme, and I don’t know that the raccoonosphere really needs a Robin-lite.

One thing I can do, and which I had forgotten I’m pretty good at, is paint. However, I’m dreadfully lazy about it without at least a little exterior motivation. If nobody is counting on me to finish something, it’s all too easy to set a project aside for another day. Example here:

Still sitting in my kitchen, needing some finishing touches. Partly, I do have an excuse for the delay, as handling toxic pigments during pregnancy is probably a wee bit unwise, but I had plenty of time before that to get busy.

Anyway – so my first order of business, which I hope to do in the next week or two, is finish this painting and ship it to my brother, who will soon be a father. After that, there’s another one from college I’ve been meaning to rework, along the lines of this one:

Which, after a lot of thought I think is pretty much finished, and needs to be shipped off to my sister. She’s getting married in October; maybe this will be a nice surprise.

Back in college, I had what I still consider a fairly strong underlying theme behind my work, one that I think is worth developing more fully: to try and bring out the sacred inherent in everyday people. With that in mind, my second order of business is to rework another painting I did back then, which was a nice idea but very poorly executed, and bring it up to the level of something hopefully a little more real.

After that, maybe some of you folks can help me out a little. I work best when someone is expecting me to finish something, preferably with some kind of deadline. What I’d really like is for people to send me a photo they’d like rendered, and tell me what media and size they’d like. Oil, watercolor, charcoal, pastel, larger or smaller, whatever you’d like. I’ll draw or paint it, and if you send me money for shipping I’ll mail it to you (unframed). No other charge – you’d actually be doing me a favor, and in fact for now money simply complicates things to the point where any income I make actually costs me time and money. I don’t need it. What I do need is practice and motivation, two things which are worth far more to me right now.

Give it some thought – I’d appreciate it!

-o.o-

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Full Circle and Bleg

  1. Go for it!

    I’m thinking I need some similar sort of motivation. . .

  2. mushroom says:

    OK, we’ll see what we can do.

    Meanwhile, I remember the first picture, but I don’t recall seeing the second one. When I first looked at it, I kept thinking it was one of those trick pictures with an angel in the background. I kept looking for the angel and realized, finally, that not what it is at all. But it is like there is something else in the picture. No tricks. It’s like four-part harmony creating a fifth voice.

  3. julie says:

    Thanks, Mushroom. You have a good eye – the angelic is implied. It was more obvious in the original (yeesh!) painting (scroll down; it was really bad), but I wanted to make it more subtle, as such things tend to be in life.

  4. Rick says:

    Ok..I’ll think of something… And I’ll knock 30% right off the top, ‘cuz I know ya.
    What’s $0 minus 30%?
    Aw heck, I’ll do it fer free.
    Stand by..

    🙂

  5. Teresa says:

    LOL – what to blog or what direction you take your blog is always what you’re comfortable doing and that changes over the years. I’d love to do more photography if my day job left me with more time (lately it’s been farookin’ busy!)

    Hmmm… since I moved all my pictures have been boxed up, maybe I dig them out. Do you do dogs? LOL I think I have a few terrific ones of our old dog from years ago (she was incredibly photogenic) Or I may have one of my kids when they were young that might be worthwhile… must see what I can find. 😉

  6. julie says:

    Dogs are great! I have a couple of dog paintings here, if you’d like to see 🙂

  7. Linda says:

    I would LOVE artwork from you…..and you don’t even have to ship it! AND I am right here to bug and nag you into working. In fact, I’ll offer babysitting so you can paint away! 🙂

    Whatever you post…..paintings, photographs, words….it’s all uniquely you and that’s why it’s enjoyable to stop by.

  8. f/zero says:

    …one that I think is worth developing more fully: to try and bring out the sacred inherent in everyday people…

    That’s your secret right there in a nutshell. I have a feeling you’ll soon be deluged with requests.

  9. Teresa says:

    Aw – such cute doggies. At the moment I don’t have any really good pics to hand. And I have to scan them as our dog pre-dated digital cameras. I have put it on my todo list so maybe I can find some this weekend. LOL.

  10. julie says:

    That would be great! This first project is wrapping up pretty fast, and I don’t know how long the second one will take – maybe a week or two, at most, so I’ll need something else to work on pretty soon 🙂

Leave a comment